
The World of Grey

Situations and 

Resolutions



Group 1
MR, DR, Starters – What do you do?

1.  Timers fail to push plungers or get an accurate time, 
plus the pads failed. Coach is concerned as there is no 
time on the scoreboard and he thinks his team broke the 
meet record, he was so excited he forgot to stop his 
watch.

2. The meet announcement has been sanctioned. Two and 1/2 
months before the meet you hear coaches share their 
excitement that the time standards have been lowered.
While discussing this with the Chair he mentions the 
possibility/probability of going to a 2-pool course. There is no 
mention of 2 pools in the meet announcement. It refers only 
to “flighting”.



Group 1
MR, DR, Starters – What do you do?

3. At championship meet during the relays, two Pom-Poms 
fall into Lane 3 from the observation deck up above. They 
hit the water when second swimmer in Lane 3 is nearby. 
Also, the Pom-Poms are the team colors for the team in 
Lane 4. What do you do? 

4. There are 8 swimmers in the water competing in the 1650-
yard freestyle. After the lead swimmer turns on lap 36, the 
entire facility loses power, no scoreboard, not lights, no 
pumps.  What do you do?



Group 2
MR, DR, Starters – What do you do?

2. A swimmer marked as a penalty NS enters the pool.  The DR asks the 

swimmer to exit the pool. The swimmer is unaware of a NS or PNS, but 
exits the pool as requested. After the heat the coach wants to know why 
his swimmer was not allowed to race. 
Preliminary investigation reveals the wrong swimmers were marked DFS 
and NS by Admin. The swimmer that was made to exit was actually NOT 
a NS or a PNS.

1.  P/F meet & halfway through the prelim session you hear results 

announced, but the announcer does not state current time or when 
“scratch or intent to scratch deadline is”



Group 2
MR, DR, Starters – What do you do?

3. A coach complains to the Referee that the Starter is “holding the swimmers 
too long” and asks that he be replaced. The Referee has been closely 
monitoring the starts, and considers the starts to be patient and fair. How 
should the situation be handled?

4.  At a meet, the starter is  periodically chit-chatting with the DR about S&T 
officials missing calls while the heats are in the water. Also in hospitality, other 
S&T Officials are discussing calls that occurred on deck.



Group 3
CJ & ST – Adjudicate the call

2. CJ adjudicates a Stroke call. During the conversation CJ, who is also a 
certified DR, states “that is not a call”. Then calls it into the DR as “no 
call”. Is this allowed?

1.  ST observes a swimmer with an illegal suit prior to a race. What should 
be done? 

3. A breaststroke swimmer moves his hands in a sculling or flipper 
movement at the end of the first arm stroke, both after the start 
and after the turn. Should he be disqualified? 

4. A stroke judge observes significant water turbulence following 
every breaststroke kick taken by the swimmer in lane 4. Hand 
raised and call is butterfly kick during the swim. How would you 
adjudicate the call? 



Group 4
CJ & ST – Adjudicate the call

1. A Coach comes up to a ST and notifies them her swimmer in the next 
heat breaststroke and is disabled as he sprained his left ankle and cannot 
turn his foot outward during the kick. Should the ST overlook the left 
foot because his is disabled?

2. A swimmer in the 100-yard butterfly moves too close to the right lane 
line. During the recovery portion of an arm stroke, his right arm hits the 
lane line, causing the right arm to trail the left arm over and into the 
water. However, the swimmer then pulls both arms back simultaneously 
during the propulsive portion of the arm stroke. The stroke judge raises 
her hand. Is this a call?



Group 4
CJ & ST – Adjudicate the call

3. At the local aquatic center, not all of the 15-meter buoys on the lane lines are 
aligned, and there is some variation between the lanes. At the start of the 
butterfly, the swimmer in lane 4 dives in and kicks underwater with a legal 
butterfly kick. His head does not break the surface of the water by the 15-meter 
buoy in his lane; however, he does break the surface of the water by the 15-
meter marks in lanes 2 and 7. Should the swimmer be disqualified? 

4. During the start of a butterfly race, a swimmer realizes that his suit has come 
loose. After taking a stroke, he simultaneously reaches back with both arms, 
pulls his suit forward, and recovers his arms over the water. Should the swimmer 
be disqualified? If so, what is the call?



Group 
Bonus Questions

1. At the start of the 50-yard freestyle, the Referee blows the long whistle, 
indicating for the swimmers to step up onto the blocks. A swimmer is standing 
behind the block in lane 7, but does not step up. How should the situation be 
handled?

2. In the 100-yard freestyle, the Referee blows the long whistle, and the 
swimmer in lane 3 steps up onto the block with one foot towards the back 
of the block and his other foot a few inches away from the front of the 
block. Are the feet in an acceptable starting position? 



Group 
Bonus Questions

3. Championship final of the 100-yard butterfly, just prior to the starting signal, 
and after the “Take your mark,” command is given, the swimmer in lane 6 
twitches his right knee, leaving his stationary starting position and diving into 
the pool. Reacting to this movement, the swimmer in lane 7 leaves his stationary 
starting position and dives into the pool. No starting signal has been given.  
After a significant delay, lanes 4, 5, & 3 all dive in. How should the situation be 
handled? 

4. When the referee hands over the race to the starter, there is no swimmer in 
lane 8. After the start, a swimmer jumps off the block and into lane 8. How 
should the situation be handled?



Group 
Bonus Questions

Were you listening to Mary?

A former college swimmer is now a registered unattached USA Swimmer. He 
trains alone and not with any club. He wants to participated in VSI swim meets. 
Is he considered an “Applicable Adult”? Does he need to complete MAAPP 
training, why or why not?

5. Backstroke event using ledges. Before the race, a swimmer removes the 
installed ledge and places his own ledge on the block. ST inquires, the swimmer 
says the guy in the white shirt on the corner said it was OK, what do you do?



Group 
What is a False Start for 100 Alex?

1. Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting 
signal. The starting signal is then given. The race proceeds. 

2. Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting signal. 
The swimmer upon realizing the early starting motion attempts to catch 
himself/herself. 

3.  Exactly the same facts as #2 above, but this time the Starter says “stand 
please” after the swimmer leaves the set or stationary position. The seven 
other swimmers stand while the offending swimmer struggles, but once 
again is unable to halt the forward motion and falls into the pool. 



Group 
What is a False Start for 200 Alex?

4. Exactly the same facts as scenarios #2 and #3 above. However, when the 
Starter gives the “stand please” command a swimmer(s) other than the 
offending swimmer instantly bolts from the blocks and enters the water. 

5.  The swimmer, upon hearing the command “take your mark” starts 
down to take a set or stationary position. The swimmer loses his/her 
balance before coming set and falls into the pool. 


